Wednesday, July 31, 2013

An Object of Beauty by Steve Martin

I've had this book on my iPod for ages. I don't have a clear reason why I kept skipping over it to listen to other books. I finally decided to give it a go since, for a week, I had a longer commute than normal.

I couldn't stop listening to this story....

It's just a basic story, set in the art world of NY, which Martin knows a great deal about. We mostly revolve around Lacey Yeager and her conquests of everything from men to the art world. She is not someone I would want to know personally and through the book we discover more about her that would make the reader happy when setbacks happen to her.

The book is "written" by her friend, who is an art writer, and details Lacey's rise from the 90's through today through the art world, beginning at Sotheby's. We never get clear details on some "mishaps" in the beginning but they are revealed later. There's no mystery, no murder, no anything really. Just an intriguing story that reels you in and educates you a bit about the art world.

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

I read this on vacation as well and though I didn't review my other vacation reads, I did want to do a small review about this one.

I was terribly excited to download this to my kindle and spent my evenings on my balcony in Florida, overlooking the beach, reading. It's a very short book but it's such a wonderful story, so beautifully written that it packed the needed punch.

While it was told from the point of view of a child, this is not a YA book. We never find out the narrator's name (but we do find that names are quite powerful indeed) we do meet Lettie and her family.

There is magic of some sort in the air around the Hempstock's farm but I truly do not want to give away anything because I had such a good time discovering everything in this world.

Please do read this one.

Vacation reads

I read 2 books as beach reads this year and started a 3rd. The first 2 I left behind at the hotel and hope other beach goers enjoyed them as much as I did. :)

I'm not particularly going to review either since vacation was several weeks ago but since they were decent reads, I do want to recommend them.

The Well of Lost Plots by Jasper Fforde

From Goodreads:
Jasper Fforde has done it again in this genre-bending blend of crime fiction, fantasy, and top-drawer literary entertainment. After two rollicking New York Times bestselling adventures through Western literature, resourceful BookWorld literary detective Thursday Next definitely needs some downtime. And what better place for a respite than in the hidden depths of the Well of Lost Plots, where all unpublished books reside? But peace and quiet remain elusive for Thursday, who soon discovers that the Well is a veritable linguistic free-for-all, where grammasites run rampant, plot devices are hawked on the black market, and lousy books—like the one she has taken up residence in—are scrapped for salvage. To make matters worse, a murderer is stalking the personnel of Jurisfiction and it’s up to Thursday to save the day. A brilliant feat of literary showmanship filled with wit, fantasy, and effervescent originality, this Ffordian tour de force will appeal to fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse. Thursday’s zany investigations continue with Something Rotten. Look for the five other bestselling Thursday Next novels, including One of Our Thursdays is Missing and Jasper Fforde’s latest bestseller, The Woman Who Died A Lot. Visit for a ffull window into the Ffordian world!

The Society by Michael Palmer

From Goodreads:
At the headquarters of Boston's Eastern Quality Health, the wealthy and powerful CEO is brutally murdered. She's not the first to die --- nor the last. A serial killer is on the loose and the victims have one thing in common: all are high-profile executives in the managed care industry.

Dr. Will Grant is outraged by a system that cares more about money than about patients --- and he intends to do something about it. But his determination has attracted a dangerous zealot who will stop at nothing to make Will his ally. On the case is rookie detective Patty Moriarity. To save her faltering career --- and countless lives --- she will have to risk trusting Will, knowing he may be the killer she's hunting